Nine Paul Smith's College Students and Alumni Take part in Snowshoe World Championships in Spain

Both Rob Calamia and Matt Frye were pleased by their performance in the World Championships over an arduous 9 Km course in Fuente de, Spain.
Both Rob Calamia and Matt Frye were pleased by their performance in the World Championships over an arduous 9 Km course in Fuente de, Spain.

2018 Snowshoe World Championships

5K Juniors (19 and under)

8.5K Seniors (20+)

Fuente dé, Spain

3 March 2018


Paul Smith's College Snowshoe Team Results

148 snowshoe athletes completed the senior world championships, including 34 women.


Women's Senior Results ~ US Women (10 Women from the US)

The US Senior Women won the 2018 Team title, led by Michelle Hummell, Sarah Keyes (Lake Placid, NY) and Myra Klettke with a combined time of 3:24:27.  Hummell won the 30 – 39 age class in 57:05 and was the overall women's World Champion.  Paul Smith's graduate (CASM), Cathy Pedtke earned a silver medal by taking second in the 20 – 29 age class, and was the 5th woman from the US to finish the event.  Tessa White (JR:  ENVS) placed fourth in the 20 – 29 age class, and 6th overall for the United States women.


Place                Name                             Finish         Overall          Place

Among US                                              Time              Place        Age Cat.

   5.                  Cathy Pedtke                1:25:18              97                   2

   6.                  Tessa White                 1:30:18             116                   4


 Women's Junior Results ~ US Women Win the Junior Team Title

The US Junior Women won the 2018 Team title, led by Soleil Gaylord (Colorado) in 35:46 over the 5K course.  Annika Rogers (Maine) placed third in 43:39, while Margret Montag (PSC FR:  ENST) placed fourth overall for the women in 1:01:00.  Ester Molinara (Italy) placed second overall in 43:34.  The three women from the United States received gold medals for their efforts and team victory. 

Men's Junior Results ~ Michael Wert places 4th overall in 49:48.

Mike Wert (FR:  NRCM) placed fourth overall in the men's JR World Championships with a time of 49:48.  William Griffiths (Great Britain) won the event in a time of 38:33, followed by Alvaro Escandón Arenas (Spain) in 42:01.  Fellow Spaniard Alberto Sanchez Garcia placed third in 47:18.




Spain Men Win Team World Championship title; United States Men place second. 


Roberto Revuelta paced the Spaniards with a time of 48:55 (3rd overall), followed by NHTI/SNHU graduate Nacho Ignacio in 51:01 (4th overall) and David Castán (5th overall) in 51:18 to take the national men's team title for Spain.  The team championship is determined by adding the total time of the top three finishers from a given nation, and the Spaniards had a combined time of 2:31:16. 


The United States men placed second in the team event, paced by 2017 World Champion, Joseph Gray (Colorado) in 48:24 (2nd overall).  Matt Medeiros (Saranac, NY) was the second American to cross the finish line in 59:52, followed by Kent Gaylord (Colorado) in 1:01:47.  The American's 2:50:04, followed by France, paced by 2018 World champion, Stephane Ricard to place third in the team event in 2:50:13.  Ricard won the individual title in 46:23.


Canada placed fourth in 2:59:27, and Italy placed fifth in 3:02:43 in the men's team event.


There were a total of 17 men from the United States who completed the race.  Locally, Jeremy Drowne (West Chazy, NY) finished 4th among Americans in 1:01:54, while Dan Edelstein (Saranac Lake) finished 6th for the United States in 1:11:59.


The following is the summary of the Paul Smith's College men's results in the 8.5K World Championship event.

Place           Name                             Finish         Overall          Place

Among US                                 Time              Place        Age Cat.

8.                     Rob Calamia               1:13:59                   63                   10

9.                     Matt Frye                    1:15:11                   69                   11

10.                   Quinn Jordan              1:19:31                   77                   12

11.                   Isaac Leach                 1:19:37                   78                   13

15.                   James Neary                1:33:21                 122                   16